Options

I need some advice from those with a CISSP

kriscamaro68kriscamaro68 Member Posts: 1,186 ■■■■■■■□□□
I am really contemplating taking the CISSP at this point and could use some advice. I am currently a Windows Sys Admin that deals with servers at a very basic level and don't deal with the network at all. I also don't really ever deal with Linux. I don't have a lot of experience with authentication and encryption with the enterprise and how to set it up. Most of my time is spent dealing with Config Manager 2012 pushing out software updates/patches and dealing with workstation imaging. I currently hold the certs that are to the left.

My question to you is would it be worth my time right now to get the CISSP without in depth knowledge of how AD works, PKI, LDAP, and so on also a deep knowledge of networking in general. Don't get me wrong I am not an idiot when it comes to this stuff and have a good grasp on the basics but by no means a pro at any of them. I would like to get your advice on if you think I should study and possibly get the MS certs, the CCNA, and maybe the Linux+/LPIC before taking on the CISSP.

I know a lot of it depends on what I want to do with my career in security which is something I will look at. I would rather you base it off your experience. Did the other certs/knowledge help or do you not really deal with any of what I mention above in your day to day duties.

I just want to know if the knowledge that I gain from studying and passing the CISSP within the next 6-8 months will be useful in possibly landing a higher paying job or, buckle down for the next year and study all the other stuff first then tackle the CISSP.

I hope this all makes sense.

Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    TBRAYSTBRAYS Member Posts: 267