Making the transisition, What level?

gc8dc95gc8dc95 Member Posts: 206 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am in the process of making the transition from my current career to IT, but my question is stemmed from the fact that there is some overlap present between IT and my current position. My question is: What level of job should I be qualified? I am currently an electrician (~5 years), but I tend to deal with many items related to IT on a regular basis. Here are my current IT related qualifications:

-Installation and termination of cabling (including CAT5/6, Fiber, Coaxial, etc)
-Installation of hardware components (servers, router, switches, racks, etc)
-Basic configuration of Layer 2 switches (typically Cisco 2950/2960)
-Basic configuration of Routers/Layer 3 switches (typically Cisco as well)
-Basic user support relating to hardware and cabling issues
-Working at the project management level on various network installations and upgrades
-Basic PLC programming and device communication using RS232, RS485, and ethernet

Experience from previous jobs:

-Monitoring and modifying an automated shipping process utilizing AIX (both CLI and GUI) ~2 years
-Technical Support for Sirius Radio (Installation, Activation, and Troubleshooting) ~1 year
-US Army (Active and Reserve ~8 years) utilizing systems based on Solaris (CLI and GUI)

Home:

-Build computers for family and friends
-Setup home networks
-Home Network Lab (2-2950, 2-3550, 2-2612, 3-2650xm)
-Home VM Lab (PE2950 Server)
-Website building for family and friends
-Basic Linux knowledge from multiple distro installations

I am currently enrolled in the Network Admin-IT degree program at WGU and hope to finish early next year. So that would add certifications such as: MCSA 08R2 and CCNA. I am not sure where I fit in at my experience level.

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod