Options

Cert/Career Advice for an IT newb

Sgcgeek78Sgcgeek78 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all, an IT newbie here with a question of what to do/pursue next. When I decided to go back to school a few years ago to finish up my bachelor's I searched around to see what was a good degree to major in. The answer that came back to me from almost everyone I asked was two words: computer security. Computer security was the hottest thing since sliced bread it seemed so I figured why not get a degree in it, and when I graduated I'd have to beat the job offers back with a stick.

Well as I'm sure you've no doubt guessed by now, that plan didn't exactly turn out to be aligned with reality. Computer security is indeed a hot field right now, but it's not exactly a field that someone with no IT experience can just walk right into. If someone had explained that to me before I majored in it (my degree is actually in Information Assurance and Security) I probably would have majored in computer science instead, but that's water under the bridge at this point.

So I find myself trying to figure out which direction to go from here. I've been applying to jobs since I graduated last May, at first I was all super optimistic that I could get a job in computer/information security, however after months of sending in resumes and cover letters I've had to lower my sights. I decided that a help desk job was probably my best bet, but alas even that has proved a bit elusive. I don't have any certs at the moment, though I've got an exam test date to take the Comptia Security + exam on the 19th of this month as that one seems to be a standard requirement for any government/government contractor position.