Odd Phone Interview

TeKniquesTeKniques Member Posts: 1,262 ■■■■□□□□□□
A little background -- I'm an IT Manager for a smaller company (~70 employees) that recently passed the CISSP exam and have begun to look for opportunities that will allow me to grow my skills within information security governance (compliance, audit, risk management). My current job deals with a little bit of that, but most of that type of work I'm doing at my own discretion and is not required per my boss (however, I have his full support). I applied for a IS management position with a local company that within the job description had the type of work I was looking for. I was contacted for a brief phone screen to discuss the salary range and the current state of the IT department. The salary range was quite a bit more than what I make now so it seemed like a decent opportunity and I agreed to a phone interview with the Director of IT.

Day of the phone interview arrives. Right off the bat the person informs me that the position is 70% technical and 30% management ... completely opposite of what the job description indicated. So, already 'red flagged' I just say "okay" and he continued to tell me they were looking for someone to take care of their whole Cisco infrastructure (Routers, Switches, ASA's, VoIP) and at the same time manage 3 employees (help desk personnel and a junior network admin). At this point I thought I was interviewing for the wrong job and it almost seemed as if the person interviewing didn't even know what the original job description indicated. Needless to say, I finished the interview and basically told the guy that I'm not a Cisco expert and that the job description did not indicate that's what was needed ... I told him that I'm in a current role that's about 80% management 20% technical. Anyways, sounds like what they were looking for was a Senior Network Engineer that could mentor/coach juniors.