Options

How do I get verifiable experience?

nsummynsummy Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Apologies if this has been asked before, I did a search and couldn't find anything. Basically I have been working in IT roughly for 10 years now, starting out with help desk & tech support, to now providing all internal support for a company of 45 people. My current job ranges from fixing broken computers, to setting backup policies, to configuring switches & firewalls. I pretty much do everything except programming.

We are hiring someone to handle the more help-desk style user issues and I'm going to be transferring to a strictly system admin role where I will be dealing with security a lot more. My boss wants me to get a CISSP which I am happy to do but the more I read the more I'm not sure if its such a good idea. While I have plenty of experience in IT and some in security in general, it appears that it will be impossible for me to get any past or future experience verified as I do not know anyone who is CISSP certified.

Looking at other certs it appears as they have similar requirements (unless I'm missing something). My questions is, even if I pass these tests am I wasting my time because I will never be able to prove any experience? I literally know no one that has any security certs. I'm completely lost as to what to do. It seems like I could spend all day working on firewalls, security cameras, encryption, etc and I still still would be dead in the water because no one could verify for me. Any advice? Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Options
    MSP-ITMSP-IT Member Posts: 752 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Based on what you're saying here, it doesn't look like you'll even meet the required 5 years in at least two of the security domains.
  • Options
    I understand that, I'm not claiming I have the required experience now. I'm just asking what I do if I get the 4-5 years experience & don't know someone with a CISSP?