Options

70-680 and powershell?

z3r0coolz3r0cool Member Posts: 49 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm thinking about jumping into my M$ cert path with the 70-680, but I was reading the outline here and I see there's mention of a 'basic understanding of windows powershell'. I have zero scripting knowledge as it stands. Do I need to learn how to script before I learn PS? What's the best way to go about it? I've tried to read some tutorials on the web, but I don't grasp what I can and can't do with it.

Comments

• Options
    ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    One does not simply learn PS.

In all seriousness, you don't need to learn PowerShell for 70-680. You need to learn whatever cmdlets they include and maybe some minor basics. You are not going to come out of studying for it with any actual PowerShell or scripting skills. You don't need any going into it.

Now, I would highly recommend you learn how to script if you want to get ahead. For 70-680 specifically, however, don't fret. Scripting is just not a component of it.
    Working B.S., Computer Science
    Complete: 55/120 credits SPAN 201, LIT 100, ETHS 200, AP Lang, MATH 120, WRIT 231, ICS 140, MATH 215, ECON 202, ECON 201, ICS 141, MATH 210, LING 111, ICS 240
    In progress: CLEP US GOV,
    Next up: MATH 211, ECON 352, ICS 340
  • Options
    ptilsen wrote: »
    One does not simply learn PS.

In all seriousness, you don't need to learn PowerShell for 70-680. You need to learn whatever cmdlets they include and maybe some minor basics. You are not going to come out of studying for it with any actual PowerShell or scripting skills. You don't need any going into it.

Now, I would highly recommend you learn how to script if you want to get ahead. For 70-680 specifically, however, don't fret. Scripting is just not a component of it.

Thanks. Scripting is something I thought would nice to learn, I just could never get a handle on it or find the right resource. Do you know of one?
  • Options