Options

That 1st job

sendalotsendalot Member Posts: 328
So, I'm a fresh college graduate with Network+ and CCNA.

What can I do to land a first real job?

I shouldn't bother going into concentrations for Cisco stuffs since I have 0 experience?

What would help now? A+? MTA?

Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    What do you want to do? A+ could certainly help, but frankly it's a lower-level certification than CCNA and shouldn't be necessary unless you would really like to start off at the very bottom of a non-networking field.

MTA is absolutely not the answer. If you want to broaden your skills to include Microsoft systems administration, MCSA is the answer.

IMO you have enough certs and education to get an entry-level position, regardless of what you're looking to get into long-term. It's just a matter of getting your resume shaped and getting it out there.
    Working B.S., Computer Science
    Complete: 55/120 credits SPAN 201, LIT 100, ETHS 200, AP Lang, MATH 120, WRIT 231, ICS 140, MATH 215, ECON 202, ECON 201, ICS 141, MATH 210, LING 111, ICS 240
    In progress: CLEP US GOV,
    Next up: MATH 211, ECON 352, ICS 340
  • Options
    SponxSponx Member Posts: 161
    Find an entry level position that can utilize your current knowledge and skillsets... Stay there for a little (6months - a year), and then apply your knowledge and skillsets to another company and keep building your experience and salary. That's my recommendation! If you need lower end certifications I would probably go with a Security+ since you already have your Net+ and then go into A+, and start learning/studying for your CISSP.
    Personal Website | LinkedIn Account | Spiceworks Account | Field Services Engineer

Certifications (Held): A+, CWP, Dell Certified
    Certifications (Studying):
    Network+, Security+
    Certifications (In Planning): Server+,
    ICND1 (CCENT), ICND2 (CCNA)
  • Options