Options

Good method of organizing your scripts/code

N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
I was wondering if the forum could recommend a method or tool (both potentially) to save scripts for future use.

Example PowerShell, VBA, etc. Something that I could have one set file organized enough to go back through with little down time. I understand the concept of writing in instructions into the script so it's easy to see what it is automating or "doing".

I'm not a developer by trade so any experience or useful ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    SteveO86SteveO86 Member Posts: 1,423
    When I did desktop support years ago, I'd write VBS scripts to automate as much as I could.

I just saved each of those scripts to a file and created a naming convention for each file. Not sure if powershell is the same way. After I while though the list did start adding up, but it was such repetitious work I just navigated to the that folder using the keyboard used the keyboard letters to get the script I needed.
    My Networking blog
    Latest blog post: Let's review EIGRP Named Mode
    Currently Studying: CCNP: Wireless - IUWMS
  • Options
    NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    N2IT wrote: »
    I was wondering if the forum could recommend a method or tool (both potentially) to save scripts for future use.
    Source code management is important to anyone who regularly develops code. You don't just want a way to save code snippet A, but also code snippet A v1.0 vs. code snippet A v2.0! This comes in handy when you discover your new code has a bug and you want to roll-back or figure out precisely what was changed to narrow down anissue.