CCNP before job or not?

wallpaper_01wallpaper_01 Member Posts: 226 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm studying for CCNA at the moment, hopefully I can be passed by june. I'm finding it really interesting, not too difficult but a lot of info to take in obviously.

I'm not working in networking at the moment, I'm wanting to get into it though. As soon as I pass my CCNA I am going to start looking for jobs. But obviously because I have a CCNA does not guarantee a job and I am going to be working hard to get one.

I have read on here that it is maybe not a good idea to gain CCNP without a networking job as it raises questions about why all the certs and no job. I live in the country and there are not a lot of Networking jobs around so it will take longer.

But do you think that I should start the journey to gain CCNP? Is this worth doing and will it help in job seeking? Not in displaying it on my CV but in having good knowledge. I'm just trying to be realistic and planning my year. Thinking about Security+ too, which I may do after CCNA.

Thanks

Dan

Comments

• FloOzFloOz Member Posts: 1,614 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I don't see why you can't get an entry level networking job when you pass your CCNA. As long as you show that you are dedicated to your studies and bettering yourself I am sure a company will be willing to give you a shot. I got my first networking engineering job a month after passing my CCNA, and I was already into my CCNP studies which impressed my new employer even more. So in my opinion keep going and get your CCNP.
  • wallpaper_01wallpaper_01 Member Posts: 226 ■■■□□□□□□□
    My main reason is that I live in a part of the world that is more interested in farming than anything else, there are 1 or 2 places though, but the nearest big city is 100 miles away.