Options

Network Engineer Jobs - The (seemingly) lucrative contract work

1Cisco11Cisco1 Registered Users Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
I was wondering if there were any professionals out there who had experience doing Cisco contract work/network engineer contract work. I (like many others, I am sure) would love to travel a bit through the course of my career. I was hoping someone could shed some light on this subject. I am young, single, I have a 4-year degree, I have only 2 years of experience under my belt, and do not yet have my CCNP. Some questions I have are:

1. How experienced or advanced in your career do you have to be to land CCNP+ level contracts?
2. Do you generally need a CCIE and the decades of experience that comes with it to land a decent job abroad?
3. Does anyone out there have experience working in Singapore, Australia, the UK, or Germany? (I am an American) How is the job market there? How advanced did your language skills need to be? Did colleges speak business English?
4. To land a contract abroad, do you generally need to move to a new location first, or will employers actually hire an individual after having only done Skype interviews/internet correspondence?
5. Any advice, personal experiences, or lessons learned from contract work would be very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance to anyone who takes the time to contribute to this thread.

Comments

• Options
    shodownshodown Member Posts: 2,271
    1. How experienced or advanced in your career do you have to be to land CCNP+ level contracts?

Depends on what needs to be done. If its a large roll out you can get by on less expeince as they may need people to pump out configs and implement sites

2. Do you generally need a CCIE and the decades of experience that comes with it to land a decent job abroad?

No