Options

Any make-or-break differences between Cisco and Juniper?

pamccabepamccabe Member Posts: 315 ■■■□□□□□□□
Funny, but I am a Network student that obviously loves networking. As part of being a student, I am in the Cisco Networking Academy through school. Going to be taking my CCENT next week and want to have CCNA by the time the fall semester starts. A few weeks back I landed an IT internship, which I absolutely love doing, although it is mostly help desk and imaging systems. Today I was given a tour of the data center and wiring closets. It is a complete Juniper operation! lol I was hoping it would be Cisco... anyway, just curious on what are the core differences between the two? I have zero experience with Juniper, just recognize the name.

Comments

• Options
    shodownshodown Member Posts: 2,271
    Cisco and Juniper are pretty close as far as following standards, cisco has its add ons like CEF, EIGRP, and a few BGP attributes. Juniper runs process seperate inside that allows for some fancier features like running debugs that can bring a cisco router down in production, and also juniper has some roll back features that people rant and rave about. I haven't logged onto a Juniper since 2009, but I remember that the BGP/OSPF implementations were pretty close to each other outside of the commands being a little different. I'll go to far as to say I like Junipers more in the WAN than cisco, but I prefer cisco at the branch site.

I've only touched a juniper switch one time, so I can't comment much about it.
    Currently Reading

CUCM SRND 9x/10, UCCX SRND 10x, QOS SRND, SIP Trunking Guide, anything contact center related
  • Options
    pamccabepamccabe Member Posts: 315 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Interesting. I might have to take a look after I finish my CCNA. Thanks for the reply.
  • Options
    higherhohigherho Member Posts: 882