Options

How to get a NONE Phone Support Job in IT?

SlayerXSlayerX Member Posts: 86 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am breaking into the IT field and I need an entry level IT job but most of those that come up are "sit on the phone and help people for 8 hours a day". I can't do this job because I will go crazy sitting in a box on the phone all week. But, I need experience and wanted to know what kind of jobs I should be looking for that are more hands on like Comcast or assembling computers? I get my resume looked at and get phone calls but I get shot down because I don't have "paid work experience in IT", even though I have a 2 year degree in IT, my A+ cert and 10 years of personal experience building, and troubleshooting computers and windows OS XP, vista and 7.

Thoughts?

Comments

• Options
    darkerzdarkerz Member Posts: 431 ■■■■□□□□□□
    If you don't like to talk to end users for 8 hours a work day, I have bad news on your prospects for IT... icon_sad.gif
    :twisted:
  • Options
    No I love talking to people in person. I don't like sitting on the phone talking to them for 8 hours a day. Dislike sitting in a box
  • Options
    kurosaki00kurosaki00 Member Posts: 973
    you dislike sitting in a box but you want to work on IT?
    Im confused...
    Most of IT jobs you will be in a box most of the time doing your thing, and talking to customers/clients/tickets
    meh
  • Options
    PD75PD75 Member Posts: 96 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Do the job you hate for a year and get some experience. Most of us probably started off that way. Experience is the key. I did 6 months unpaid work. Why? Because I wanted to get experience and it paid off in the end.
  • Options
    About7NarwhalAbout7Narwhal Member Posts: 761
    kurosaki00 wrote: »
    you dislike sitting in a box but you want to work on IT?
    Im confused...