Options

Helpdesk to Systems Admin, how?

yhickfoeyhickfoe Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have over 4 years experience on a 4 different helpdesks, I know it's a long time to spend in this role but during that time I left to start my own business which failed, that was a year ago and I've been in two different helpdesk roles since and really want to get out now and move forward.

I want to go the systems administrator route, can someone please tell me what certs I should get?

Comments

• Options
    RouteMyPacketRouteMyPacket Member Posts: 1,104
    Why four different help desks? On top of that 4yrs is way too long for someone who is wanting a career out of IT.

Anyway, you mentioned moving on to System Administration. Then I would lean towards a MS track, say Server 2012. Take the 70-410 exam, then you will be MCTS then you finish the other two.

You should be looking for and applying towards Desktop positions. It is highly unlikely anyone would come off a Help Desk and land a Sys Admin a job. It generally goes Help Desk->Desktop->Sys Admin
    Modularity and Design Simplicity:

Think of the 2:00 a.m. test—if you were awakened in the
    middle of the night because of a network problem and had to figure out the
    traffic flows in your network while you were half asleep, could you do it?
  • Options
    yhickfoeyhickfoe Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□