Options

Ip address for switches

RavenclawRavenclaw Member Posts: 43 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey all, I am studying for the ccna and am trying to get all the commands in the packet tracer down. I am trying to give a switch
an IP address. It seems pretty straight forward but I am getting the same error. hoping you guys can help. Plus I had a couple questions too. Thanks in advance.icon_rolleyes.gif

GigabitEthernet0/1 unassigned YES unset up up

GigabitEthernet0/2 unassigned YES unset up up

Switch>en
Switch#conf t
Enter configuration commands, one per line. End with CNTL/Z.
Switch(config)#int vlan1
Switch(config-if)#int gig 0/2
Switch(config-if)#ip address 1.1.1.254 255.255.255.0
^
% Invalid input detected at '^' marker.

Questions:

The exercise has four switches and 5 nodes can they all be on Vlan 1? I figured that it would not matter due to mac addresses

Should the switch ip address be in the high or low range of addresses?

Comments

• Options
    gbdavidxgbdavidx Member Posts: 840
    Im still learning ccent, but i dont think you need the int- gig 0/2, what is this?

from jeremy, on his switch he had the following:
    switch(config)#int vlan 1
    switch(config)#ip 11.1.254 255.255.255.0 and then do your defualt gateway command, you dont need the int gig 0/2

i would think you would make it at the low end, so 1.1.1.0, but im a newb
  • Options
    Hmm...ok
    I thought you had to go into the interface which was a gigabit 0/2 port to put the IP address in?

If I have 4 switches and no router do I still need a default gateway?

Thanks for the input, hopefully someone can iron this out soon, its holding me up pretty bad....icon_sad.gif
  • Options
    theodoxatheodoxa Member Posts: 1,340 ■■■■□□□□□□
    When you add "int Gig 0/2", you are switching from VLAN 1 to a specific port (Gigabit 0/2). The IP Address goes on a VLAN interface, unless it was a Layer 3 Switch (3550/3560) and you were making the port a routed instead of switched port.
    R&S: CCENT CCNA CCNP CCIE [ ]