Options

Not sure what exam I should aim for

captaincrash4captaincrash4 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi, I was supposed to be studying last year but due to my son having surgery etc my plans went wayward and I now find myself in the position of uncertainty on which exam to go for (If i actually get the motivation to follow through this time icon_rolleyes.gif).

I have no experience in Networking but I want to move out of Office Administration and into something more technical and after reading up on Networking I thought it sounded interesting. I am currently a stay at home dad and my "idea" is to get qualified and get an entry level position and take things from there. I want to be ready to get into looking for work next spring but with the new exams coming in September i'm not sure which route to go for as I just don't know if I will be ready in time to do it for September.

I still have my basic Lab/Material consisting of

Routers: 2621, 2620 & 2612
Switches: 2924 x2 & 2950

Odom's CCENT Third Edition
Lammle's CCNA Seventh Edition
Old CBT Nuggets
Boson Netsim
Boson CCNA Exam

I was thinking of starting next week and just going through the current material and if I feel ready I will go for ICND 1 and see how much time I have or should I just get the new exam books and go for the new exam and take the pressure off myself as I didn't plan on starting up until July.

Also from what I gather my "old" study material will be good for the new exam and all I will need to do is fill the gaps that the new exam covers and everything should be good or am I missing something?