Options

General question re which cert path to take

corey1980corey1980 Member Posts: 41 ■■□□□□□□□□
I know this is going to come off as a very general question, but I am really having a difficult time deciding what I want to do in the IT industry. I originally started out in the IT industry as a graphic designer/web developer but didn't have a degree and was mostly self taught. This worked out great in the ".com boom" because you didn't need a certification or degree to get hired. Well, after the crash of the tech world I had a really difficult time getting a job due to my lack of certifications/degree. I decided that I would really like to get away from the web design/graphics genre and move towards the support environment.

I decided to start with A+/Net+ because they seemed to be the starting point for a lot of people in IT and I really don't have a lot of experience. I recently passed my Net+ cert and am currently studying for A+. However, now I have a dilema of choosing what path I want to take after that. Why I am having such a hard time? Well, honestly I am not 100% sure of what responsibilities a MCSE would have when they get a job. How does it differ from CCNA/MCDST/MCSA? I guess I am just a little confused which path to take because I am not sure where they would lead me when it comes to applying for a job.

Maybe somebody can enlighten me which cert path leads where when you finally hit the light at the end of the tunnel.

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    johnnynodoughjohnnynodough Member Posts: 634
    I worked as a contractor for years, worked out pretty good because I got tons of exposure to many different aspects of the wonderful IT field. Decided I wanted to work in server ops, been doing that for a few years. Now I am tired of that and want to get into Net ops, I would love nothing more than to never talk to another end user again (server ops keeps me away from EU's as well) : )