Options

Questioning my IT career: It starts Here, and I am new to IT - Need some mentors

vvssovannvvssovann Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
The Short: I came home 3 years ago from being incarcerated for 14 years. It's really difficult to get any job these days with a record. I'm looking toward the IT field to at least buffer the situation I am in. I am starting to study for the A+ TODAY (yes, literally TODAY) I plan to go the A+, Net+, CCNA route for now. (With a Security + cert for flair)

Question 1: What study materials are the most effective (i.e. books/free online training/vs time and money - because I am underemployed and it's hard to just get by with my personal restraints)

Question 2: Is this the right track to go? (I want to be able to provide for myself and my family...with a record, will these certifications save my life?)

I need all of your help, and any information, no matter how harsh or true your opinions may be, would be of great service.

Comments

• Options
    ChickenNuggetzChickenNuggetz Member Posts: 284
    To be honest, having a record will definitely make this more difficult for you when looking to land a job. You will most likely be turned away from many jobs simply for that fact. There are, however, many employers out there who are probably OK with giving an ex-con a chance, so dont be discouraged if you get rejected, keep on pushing forward and you'll get there!