Options

Study for multiple exams at once?

About7NarwhalAbout7Narwhal Member Posts: 761
All,

I have recently decided to study up on Linux as it could lead to a better position with my current employer. That said, I am in desperate need of Networking training as it is my weakness. eg, I know how to make a cable and plug it in.. else I am clueless.

Being a complete novice in both technologies, do you guys think I could successfully manage both? I think the Net+ might be manageable because it is fairly vender neutral and should be topics that I can cover in Linux to kill 2 birds with 1 stone, so to speak.

Seems like I have a full schedule all of a sudden, because I would also like to get the 685 completed before retirement.

Any advice is useful.

Comments

• Options
    dave330idave330i Member Posts: 2,091 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I've done it a few times and I don't recommend it.
    2018 Certification Goals: Maybe VMware Sales Cert
    "Simplify, then add lightness" -Colin Chapman
  • Options
    EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Yeah, I'd go all out on one exam and knock it out before I start on the second. It isnt as much about the piece of paper as it is about the knowledge that comes along with it. The Net+ is pointless at the stage you are at, I reckon. Study the CCENT/CCNA (may take a while but the dividends are much greater than the lowly and entry-level N+) instead.
    NSX, NSX, more NSX..

Blog >> http://virtual10.com
  • Options
    aaron0011aaron0011 Member Posts: 330
    I did A+ and Net+ years ago at the same time. Took both A+ exams in same day and the Net+ two days later. I had two classes in college in the same semester that covered a lot of the material from both exams so it wasn't that difficult. I wouldn't do it on self study unless it's two tests closely related like CIPT1 and CIPT2 in the Voice track.
  • Options
    Asif DaslAsif Dasl Member Posts: 2,116 ■■■■■■■■□□