Cannot ping external router interface
MiikeB
Member Posts: 301
in CCNA & CCENT
Any idea why I can't ping the external router interface? I am using packet tracer. Is there any surefire way to determine which interface is set as the WAN connect? I currently have PC -> Switch - > Router <-> Router. I can ping from the PC to 192.168.0.1 but I cannot ping 192.168.1.1 but I can ping from the router to 192.168.1.2 (other router). version 12.2
no service timestamps log datetime msec
no service timestamps debug datetime msec
no service password-encryption
!
hostname r1
!
!
!
enable secret 5 $1$mERr$hx5rVt7rPNoS4wqbXKX7m0
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
interface FastEthernet0/0
ip address 192.168.1.1 255.255.255.0
duplex auto
speed auto
!
interface Ethernet1/0
ip address 192.168.0.1 255.255.255.0
duplex auto
speed auto
!
interface Ethernet1/1
no ip address
duplex auto
speed auto
!
interface Ethernet1/2
no ip address
duplex auto
speed auto
!
interface Ethernet1/3
no ip address
duplex auto
speed auto
!
ip classless
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
line con 0
password cisco
login
line vty 0 4
password cisco
login
!
!
!
end
no service timestamps log datetime msec
no service timestamps debug datetime msec
no service password-encryption
!
hostname r1
!
!
!
enable secret 5 $1$mERr$hx5rVt7rPNoS4wqbXKX7m0
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
interface FastEthernet0/0
ip address 192.168.1.1 255.255.255.0
duplex auto
speed auto
!
interface Ethernet1/0
ip address 192.168.0.1 255.255.255.0
duplex auto
speed auto
!
interface Ethernet1/1
no ip address
duplex auto
speed auto
!
interface Ethernet1/2
no ip address
duplex auto
speed auto
!
interface Ethernet1/3
no ip address
duplex auto
speed auto
!
ip classless
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
line con 0
password cisco
login
line vty 0 4
password cisco
login
!
!
!
end
Graduated - WGU BS IT December 2011
Currently Enrolled - WGU MBA IT Start: Nov 1 2012, On term break, restarting July 1.
QRT2, MGT2, JDT2, SAT2, JET2, JJT2, JFT2, JGT2, JHT2, MMT2, HNT2
Future Plans - Davenport MS IA, CISSP, VCP5, CCNA, ITIL
Currently Studying - VCP5, CCNA
Currently Enrolled - WGU MBA IT Start: Nov 1 2012, On term break, restarting July 1.
QRT2, MGT2, JDT2, SAT2, JET2, JJT2, JFT2, JGT2, JHT2, MMT2, HNT2
Future Plans - Davenport MS IA, CISSP, VCP5, CCNA, ITIL
Currently Studying - VCP5, CCNA
Comments
-
mark992 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□what is the second router's ip address???you should include a static route in your second router and your pc's default gateway must be the fastethernet0/0 ip add ress
-
Bundiman Member Posts: 201is the external interface up. By that I mean plugged into something? First can you ping the ip address from the router itself? Second run "show ip interface brief" does to show the Status and Protocols being up?Bachelor of Science, IT - Security Emphasis (Start Date: Apr 1st, 2013)
Bachelor of Science, IT - Security Emphasis (Completed: Apr 25t, 2014) -
atorven Member Posts: 319My guess is that the other router 192.168.1.2, doesn't know how to get to your 192.168.0.1 network, add a static route of that network pointing to 192.168.1.1 and that should solve your problem.
-
MiikeB Member Posts: 301From PC 192.168.0.254 I can ping 192.168.0.1. I cannot ping 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.1.2
From router 1 which has an ip 192.168.0.1 and 192.168.1.1 I can ping 192.168.1.2 and 192.168.0.254Graduated - WGU BS IT December 2011
Currently Enrolled - WGU MBA IT Start: Nov 1 2012, On term break, restarting July 1.
QRT2, MGT2, JDT2, SAT2, JET2, JJT2, JFT2, JGT2, JHT2, MMT2, HNT2
Future Plans - Davenport MS IA, CISSP, VCP5, CCNA, ITIL
Currently Studying - VCP5, CCNA -
networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 ModIs the PCs default gateway set correctly?An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
-
prtech Member Posts: 163Looks like networker got it already. I bet your default gateway on the PC is not configured properly.If at first you do succeed, try something harder.