Options

Build my own SAN/NAS with iSCSI/NFS/ZFS - questions and concepts i'm not getting

jaz0nj4ckaljaz0nj4ckal Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
Community Team members:

I am just learning and reseaching the concepts of: SANs, NAS and ZFS storage solutions. Due to the latter, I am thinking about turning an old Dell 2950 8x hdd, into a file NAS, or SANs.

### Options ###
I have reseached about using hardware RAID with iSCSI.

I have researched about using RAID with NFS shares.

(what i really like) Use ZFS and share out NFS.
###

I am leaning towards OpenIndiana(OI) for ZFS; however, i don't understand why I read about folks putting Napp-it on top of OI for a storage soltuions. I mean - doesn't OI and ZFS do everything already, and you can do tasks through the command line interface (CLI), like snapshots and volume/pool management? Since I am new to there concepts, I must be overlooking something.

In addition, I will be sharing out the storage containers (not sure if that is the right term) to VMware and Hyper-V, which can both see NFS shares, so I am still at a lost why to use Napp-it or any other solution like FreeNAS or OpenNAS.

Are the solutions I mention just provide a web interface for all the management overhead?

thanks.

Comments

• Options
    UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,566 Mod
    I recommend Solaris 11 for X86 instead of OpenIndiana. OpenIndiana is OpenSolaris after Oracle has killed the OpenSolaris project. Solaris 11 has a much better support for ZFS IMHO.

Now, true ZFS does everything (snapshots, pool management, self healing) but people use NetApp (NAS) and SAN solutions because they need to purchase disk arrays for mass storage. All storage solutions hardware (like NetApp, HDS, EMC, StorageTek) have their own RAID manager that does things like snapshots and volume management. Why use ZFS when you can do it through the hardware? it is much faster if done by the hardware.