Options

Denied from help desk jobs.

bhamzbhamz Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I was denied from two help desk jobs..At the moment I have no experience in help desk but I am trying to get experience by getting in the door. My last job rejection, the other candidate had experience over me. Anyone have any tips to help improve my chances? Here is my current resume so you can see as well and critique. Thanks much.

Comments

• Options
    coreyb80coreyb80 Member Posts: 647 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Glad to know that I'm not the only one that this has happened to.
    WGU BS - Network Operations and Security
    Completion Date: May 2021
  • Options
    lol, I guess misery loves company
  • Options
    PolynomialPolynomial Member Posts: 365
    Just to confirm something- you didn't get the last 2 jobs you applied for using that resume?
  • Options
    YFZbluYFZblu Member Posts: 1,462 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I haven't looked at the resume; but if you're getting calls and interviews I would guess your resume is not a big problem.
  • Options
    NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    The resume has a poor lay-out, so I'd suggest using a standard template. Also, since your A+ certification is one of your key assets, I'd make sure that's near the top of your resume. Finally, with small numbers like "10+", take a stab at the actual number. Reading your resume, I'm going to assume 10+ means 10. If you mean 12, say 12. I'm okay with "100+".

You do not mention at what phase of the job-hunting process you're encountering trouble.
  • Options
    crrussell3crrussell3 Member Posts: 561
    Changing I would make:

1. New layout. Find a template online and use it. Or search TE for ones that others have posted and copy their format.
    2. Be consistent with your formatting. Some headers are bolded in sections and not in others.
    3. I would remove the numbers (10+, 15+, etc) from your Self Employed section. Those numbers are all in a days work at a busy Helpdesk.