Options

Opinion: If my university changed the name of my major after I graduated....

dmoore44dmoore44 Member Posts: 646
Should I continue to use the name of the program I graduated under, or can I use the new program name without looking like a tool? None of the classes related to the major have changed - it was just the name of the concentration...
Graduated Carnegie Mellon University MSIT: Information Security & Assurance Currently Reading Books on TensorFlow
Failed to load the poll.

Comments

• Options
    Cisco InfernoCisco Inferno Member Posts: 1,034 ■■■■■■□□□□
    What are the two names of the programs? if it changed to something better sounding I do not see a reason not to.
    2019 Goals
    CompTIA Linux+
    [ ] Bachelor's Degree
  • Options
    XyroXyro Member Posts: 623
    What's on your degree??

I don't believe it's ethical to use anything but what is present on the degree.
  • Options
    Cisco InfernoCisco Inferno Member Posts: 1,034 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Xyro wrote: »
    What's on your degree??

True. I guess it should match whats on your actual diploma. What do I know? I dont even have one icon_rolleyes.gif
    2019 Goals
    CompTIA Linux+
    [ ] Bachelor's Degree
  • Options
    Xyro wrote: »
    What's on your degree??

My diploma only mentions that I have a BS, nothing more. It doesn't mention what my focus or course of study was.
    Graduated Carnegie Mellon University MSIT: Information Security & Assurance Currently Reading Books on TensorFlow
  • Options
    blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
    You put the degree you earned. You don't want them to request your transcript and see a discrepancy.
    IT guy since 12/00

Recent: 11/2019 - RHCSA (RHEL 7); 2/2019 - Updated VCP to 6.5 (just a few days before VMware discontinued the re-cert policy...)
    Working on: RHCE/Ansible
    Future: Probably continued Red Hat Immersion, Possibly VCAP Design, or maybe a completely different path. Depends on job demands...
  • Options