How much harder is CCNP compared to CCNA?

chickenlicken09chickenlicken09 Member Posts: 537 ■■■■□□□□□□
And does it typically take double the study time using lammle books, vids etc.

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    It all depends on your current level of technical knowledge.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • FloOzFloOz Member Posts: 1,614 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I dove straight into CCNP studies right after CCNA (around that time I also got my first networking job). Basically all the concepts just go a lot more in depth. Its not necessarily harder but in my opinion it does require a lot more study time. I have been studying route for about 3 months now and still don't feel confident taking the test.
  • NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    The first key difference is the CCNA is intended for and best helps those with zero experience, whereas the CCNP is intended for and best helps those with at least a year of experience. Technically, gaining a year of experience is infinitely harder than gaining zero experience, and we've had many threads about the low utility of a zero-experience CCNP. ;)

As far as material covered, the CCNA official certification library weighs in at 1500 pages whereas the CCNP official certification library weighs in at 1800 pages. However, given the attention to detail and to labbing in the CCNP, most people will spend significantly longer trudging through them. Perhaps three times as long is a good estimate?

The exams are no harder nor easier, given you have adequate experience, knowledge, and practice. That is as it should be. The exam is intended to test basic knowledge and abilities, not your test-taking skills.
  • shodownshodown Member Posts: 2,271