Options

New forum member looking for Degree Advice, want to do A.A.S then WGU BA

Mike_11Mike_11 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

I would like to start pursuing a degree in network administration and right now since I have zero experience Im thinking about starting with one of two options, either a computer networking aas from here MCCC :: Computer Networking AAS

or an IT network engineering degree from here Information Technology, Network Engineering, A.A.S. | Delaware County Community College

Once I complete Id like to apply to WGU and pursue a BA in information technology network administration.

My question is should I contact WGU to see if either of these two schools credits and coursework would be of any use and would completion allow me to transfer to WGU?

I hear that people in the IT field learn much of what they know from working hands on and working there way up in a company, should I look into getting a job at a help desk or something once I complete my AAS and Im in WGU that way I have the hands on experience necessary to be a better prospect for employment once I complete my BA?

Any advice is much appreciated :)

Mike

Comments

• Options
    silverp1silverp1 Member Posts: 124
    Hey Mike,
    WGU states that an AS or AAS degree in some sort of IT subject is enough for admission to the BSIT Network Admin track - here's a link: Online Network Administration Degree | MCSA | WGU College of Information Technology

With regards to the two programs you mentioned, they both look pretty similar to me. I would say pick the one that is cheaper :)
    Certs: CCENT, CCNA:R&S
    Working on: MCITP:SA
    Goals: CCENT (ICND1) [Done], CCNA (ICND2) [Done], MCITP:SA
  • Options
    NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Mike_11 wrote: »
    I hear that people in the IT field learn much of what they know from working hands on