Options

Acquiring relevant experience as a student

ITcognitoITcognito Member Posts: 61 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey everybody,

Just stumbled across this site and I'll definitely be taking advantage of the host of information and resources on here.

Quick question. I am a university student in a IT security program wondering how do I go about acquiring relevant experience before graduating? Any advice or suggestions will be helpful.

Comments

• Options
    Hatch1921Hatch1921 Member Posts: 257 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Network with other students and faculty. Look for free or paid intern positions at companies in your local area. I've found networking with the students/faculty has been extremely beneficial. It lead me to help with a huge network project starting at the end of this month. I'm in the same boat as you... college student looking for practical, hands-on experience.

Best of luck.
    Hatch
  • Options
    DustyRackDustyRack Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Take what ever work you can get - Try scenarios at home / set up a personal lab the more you experiment with the more you see and experience. When I was a student I spent a lot of my free time working voluntary in a local school just trying to pick up experience - I then went on to design and implement a new network at that spot which was great :D also allowed me to use some of the skills I was learning in University.
  • Options
    sigsoldiersigsoldier Member Posts: 136 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I would study and get a cert or two under your belt. Most college students won't have them, so when it comes time to interview for internships, you'll have something to stand out.
  • Options
    MentholMooseMentholMoose Member Posts: 1,525 ■■■■■■■■□□