Options

Cisco Career

aznkoolguyaznkoolguy Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
As I am studying for the CCNA 640-802 I was wondering what would the real world experience be like. Is the CCNA 640-802 a minimal to be employed as entry-level Network Administrator? Do you have to be proficient at subnetting and remember all the Cisco command?

Comments

• Options
    NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    aznkoolguy wrote: »
    Is the CCNA 640-802 a minimal to be employed as entry-level Network Administrator?
    The CCNA is a door opener, but your first stop may be less prestigious than being a network administrator.
    Do you have to be proficient at subnetting and remember all the Cisco command?
    Since you're presenting yourself as a CCNA, a strong knowledge of subnetting and the commands covered by that exam would be expected in an interview. And, generally, those are skills you will use on-the-job. That said, you could certainly work at a non-Cisco shop and find roles where a subnetting calculator is sufficient if those are topics you'd prefer to avoid.
  • Options
    From a career perspective, one of the more defining choices will be which sector you start working in. A small company, a large enterprise, a service provider, and a data center all have fairly different network requirements.
  • Options
    Less of a Network Administrator being a Cisco Internship right. What does the employer expect from someone with just a Cisco certificate but no real world experience? What kind of question do I need to expect at an interview by the employer or will there be a test? A non-cisco shop your referring to is a Computer Technician shop? I am not trying to avoid subnetting because its the foundation of Networking but helpful to use subnetting calculator on the job.
  • Options