Options

Have BS in Biology, looking to start a career in the IT field.

Bacon_00Bacon_00 Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□
I earned a BS in Biology from the University of Washington in 2008, and have since worked as a cop/Park Ranger in Yosemite National Park. I decided that law enforcement wasn't for me, though, and have decided to return to the one thing I've always excelled at: Computers/IT.

I have no work experience, per se, but I have hobby experience. I've been building and maintaining my personal PCs since I was 12 (27 now), and generally love computers and love learning how to use them. I have a knack for it and just seem to "get" computers. I remember in 6th grade I taught myself HTML and was making websites as a hobby. Yet somehow I ended up chasing bears in Yosemite... but I digress.

A few months ago, I enrolled in a 2-year AAS program at a local community college in their IT program.

Unfortunately, I'm bored out of my mind due to the slow, plodding nature of the class. The first quarter is covering A+ material, and I am so bored with how slow it's going I can barely pay attention. When we spend 5 hours on installing Windows or 5 hours on how to install a hard drive, I just about fall asleep because I could DO those things in my sleep. It's like having somebody lecture on how to chew your food. It's awful. There is so much more to learn in the IT field that I feel that I'm wasting my time and money.