Options

Is my school's CIS program worth it?

roger_90roger_90 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone

I'm an electrical engineer student but I'm seriously thinking about changing my major. I feel that an IT related job is what I really want to do. I received my A+ Cert. 5 years ago when I was in 9th grade. However, I never tried completing any more certificates because I thought electrical engineer was my going to be my future. Now, I'm transferring to my school's Computer Information Systems program but I'm not sure if it's any good. And that's where I need some help from you guys.

Here are some of the classes required for a B.S. in Computer Information Systems Degree Requirements for Bachelor of Science in Computer Information Systems

and here's a different option, B.S. in Computer Engineering Technology Degree Requirements for Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering Technology

My plan is to find a position as a Network Admin/Engineer or similar position in the future and I'm aware that I'm also going to need lots of experience. Which of the two degrees is gonna help me the most to achieve my goal? Also, what certificates should I start working on now? BTW, The only cert I passed was the A+ but I want to do it again because I feel very rusty =P. What books do you guys suggest for passing it again?

Any suggestions are appreciated icon_thumright.gif

Comments

• Options
    eansdadeansdad Member Posts: 775 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Of the 2 it looks like the Engineering would be a little more toward what you are looking to do. Why do A+ again? If you want to brush up just pick up a book and read. No need to retake an exam. As for exams you could go the Net+ and Sec+ to finish the trilogy then work on Cisco or do Sec+ and CCENT if you are already comfortable with networking basics.
  • Options
    Master Of PuppetsMaster Of Puppets Member Posts: 1,210