Options

Need Help Breaking Into IT Industry

hawkpacifichawkpacific Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Greetings everyone,

I am 29 and am looking to change careers into the IT industry. I have my Bachelor's in Business and Master's in Psychology (should I put the Master's on my resume?). I have years of experience teaching and in social work/psychotherapy. Most all my jobs incorporated PC based billing systems and/or MS Office. However, I am very tired of the social work arena.

I am currently volunteering at a computer training program for the community, through a non-profit company. I am assisting the main instructor in classes about basic PC skills through Office skills.

I have applied at a couple places who want a paid intern/entry level worker. I am looking for entry level work, possibly via a help desk position (I don't have the brains for programming).

Anyway, I have always been considered “techie” by everyone I know and have had PCs as a hobby for most of my life. I know pretty much all the basics except more advanced networking. I have always been working on friend's/family's computer most of my life as well.

Anyway, do you peeps have any suggestions as to how to find an entry-level position somewhere?

And, I would like to get A+ certification. I was thinking about using trainsignal.com subscription service for instruction videos, along with the most popular A+ book CompTIA A+ Certification All-in-One Exam Guide, 8th Edition (Exams 220-801 & 220-802) by Michael Meyers.

I am open to any suggestions as how to make my training material more effective. Any free videos that are comparable to trainsignal.com?

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    Master Of PuppetsMaster Of Puppets Member Posts: 1,210