Options

Interviewing for a Sec position. Tips and/or what should I expect in the interview?

brucet3brucet3 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
The interview is for a Junior Sec position, analyzing logs, creating incident reports, grunt work basically but I would really love to get it and get my foot in the door.

I'm currently studying for the SSCP (June 3rd), Backtrack PWB online classes(right after) and the CCNA:Sec in July before I start the MSISA @ WGU in August. I have a CCNA and Security + and have been doing labs, CBT's, reading and tweaking with home hardware for months now and it looks like I have an interview coming up next week sometime.

What should I expect?

Any and all feedback will be appreciated and taken in the spirit in which its given.

Thanks,

icon_study.gif Bruce

Comments

• Options
    the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Know how SSL works including all the technical details. I'd also suggest reading up on the top ten common attacks and knowing how they work.
    WIP:
    PHP
    Kotlin
    Intro to Discrete Math
    Programming Languages
    Work stuff
  • Options
    lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    I might expect questions on cross-log correlation, basically 'what signs would you look for' in different systems (like a directory traversal attack in apache logs, etc).

As Grinch said be knowledgeable of common attacks (I like OWASP's page @ https://www.owasp.org/index.php/Category:Attack).
  • Options
    Great advice guys, keep it coming!

Plan so far is to write one page on each of the top 10 attacks from last year, and then hammer SSL home.

I'm also studying for my SSCP so that knowledge won't hurt either.

Bruce
  • Options
    I plan on doing both the CEH and the SSCP, but for the sake of this interview, should I look to study the topics in the CEH instead of the SSCP?

Bruce
  • Options
    dmoore44dmoore44 Member Posts: 646
  • Options
    the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■