Options

10 year Army Vet, career change to IT profession...

htownhtown Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone, I'm on track to be discharged from the Army within a year and thankfully the VA has set me up with a path to a new career.. Today will be the start of training to complete my A+ cert, along with this certifications to follow: NETWORK+, SECURITY+, WIN7, AND ITIL v3. Working on the notion that I complete ALL of these certifications, what jobs should I target since I have NO experience in the IT field??

Comments

• Options
    ArabianKnightArabianKnight Member Posts: 278 ■■■□□□□□□□
    You want to look at Help Desk type stuff. What area in IT interests you?
  • Options
    boobobobobobboobobobobob Member Posts: 118
    Entry level PC repair and Help Desk.
  • Options
    Im not sure yet but I do enjoy the hardware repair aspect of IT.
  • Options
    I'm in the Army as well, but the IT field is my current MOS. If I were you, I would try to apply for a GS position. What type of work experience do you have in the military? Is it the tech side or more of like field work? www.usajobs.com is a good place to look. Even Security Clearance Jobs - ClearanceJobs.com if you have a current security clearance. For GS positions, ex-military resumes go to the top of the list, so that is a help. Do you have a degree? You could even try AGR. They hire you as a GS position, but you will still do the once a month training and If they deploy, so will you.

Well, Im currently a Medic so really no background in the IT field. Thanks for the idea of a GS position but I want to really enjoy being out of the service and that includes not working with or around military..lol
  • Options
    mistabrumley89mistabrumley89 Member Posts: 356 ■■■□□□□□□□