Options

Revsion Advice

gbeer7gbeer7 Member Posts: 42 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

Currently i have around 2 1/2 hours revsion a day, have an 8 month old and 2 year old so time is limited ! I'm studying for the 640 exam, but finding revsion time not very well structured. What did others do ? Should i spend an hour on a nugget, then read the book ? Spend an hour doing practical work or recapping what i have done ? Getting concerned that stuff i have studied is going from my head. Taken lots of notes, but not sure if thats helping much either. In a bit of a muddle so any advice would be good. What sort of schedules did people setup ?

Comments

• Options
    MeatCatalogueMeatCatalogue Member Posts: 145
    The way I study is I watch the videos through once without any notes. Then I go back and take notes of the videos. My 70-642 notes were 147 pages, but most of the content in those notes were screen snips of the gui interface or screensnips of commands.

After I finished the videos a second time (in my case cbt nuggets) I reviewed all my notes then took some practice exams. In my case I was scoring between 68% and 80% on the exams so I was not confident. I then bought some more practice exams and tried then in "real time". What this means is I would select my answer and if wrong, figure out why by googling to subject which usually led me to technet which shed light on the correct answer.

On exam day I crammed for about 3 hours, memorizing commands (and context like netsh) and ports, etc, and walked into the exam full of redbull.

Doing all of the above I scored an 880 on the actual exam last week. I'm onto 643 and am doing the same thing again as it worked for me in the previous exam.

This is just how MY brain works, yours may work differently. As for 640, I took that exam over 3 years ago so i can't really say. I know I read almost the entire training kit book (version 1 at the time) and had 50 or so pages of notes.
  • Options