Options

scripting, batch file and powershell

Salt0912Salt0912 Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
I work for xyz company and we use logmein all the time. I am looking into scripting, bat file and powershell. All the computers are mainly xp-8 and no older then xp. There are mountains of information on google and I have been reading forums for about 3 days now at work. I have found it difficult to find any direction to start as there is still lots of confusion on scripting, batch file and powershell. Below I will list what I don't understand.

Scripting:

any programming language that is easy to pick up and run simple programs or process i.e perl, php, python

Batch file:

Plan text commands that are executed in the cmd.exe.

Powershell:

from my understanding it replaces the cmd.exe because you can ping in powershell like in cmd.exe but also an advanced program that is like the unix shell command(sorry new to all of this I am a noob)

I mainly want to pick this up so I can run a script(programming language) or a batch file/powershell( if i can run these in a script or have them call scripts or vica versa(programming language) to execute command line, move files, move the mouse like a actual user was doing it to automate some things in a program, deactivate UAC.

would i not need batch files or power shell if a scripting language could do the examples i named above or would i need a scripting language and with in the scripting language embed a batch or powershell file? what would i call my scripting language i.e an exe? i know i need an interpreter for my scripting file. why batch or powershell if they do the same thing or do they do different things?

for example do i create a batch file to call on powershell or vica versa?

my other question is can i just omit batch file and use powershell all by itself with a scripting language?

scripiting> batchfile> powershell

scripting > powershell> batch file

powershell> scripting> batchfile

batch file> scripting> powershell