CCNP for a Telecommunications Technician

delorean80delorean80 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi my name is Albert, I'm new here.

I don't know if this is the right section to discuss about the Cisco CCNP R&S certification.

I'm a Telecommunications Technician with a valid CCNA. I would go ahead with my certification path and the next step is CCNP. At work I deal with routers and switches (Cisco most of the time). My main duties are Install the hardware, upgrade IOS, make a physical connection between router and PABX to deliver VOIP service, configure devices with startup config and then leave the rest of the work to the Provisioning team (the ISP team) who take care of remote connections (Test BGP, EIGRP, OSPF and so on). Since my job role is not a "CCNP" role, can I go ahead with CCNP path even I don't deal with routing protocols??
I would move to Networking Field and I need some suggestion from experts!!!

Thank you.

Comments

• iamme4evaiamme4eva Member Posts: 272
    There's nothing stopping you. It will be harder work, and you will need to do a lot of practical study. We all have to learn somewhere, it just depends whether you are willing to put the effort in! Get some cheap routers / switches off ebay, combine with GNS3, and just practice.

EDIT: P.S, Hi Albert and welcome! Stick around, there's a lot of helpful people on here.
    Current objective: CCNA Security
    My blog: mybraindump.co.uk
  • delorean80delorean80 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hi iamme4eva,

Thanks for your help,

I have already a couple of Routers and Switches ( Cisco 2911, 1921, 1841, 887 and 2x Catalyst 2950 and Catalyst 3560 v2 24p POE)... I think that with some patience and strong practice I can pass the exams.. but If you are a Network Manager/Engineer do you hire me with CCNP fresh in mind but with a "CCNA" job experience?
  • vinbuckvinbuck Member Posts: 785 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I would absolutely do it!