SSCP eligibility/advice

ZoovashZoovash Member Posts: 84 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello guys!
I've discovered this site a few weeks ago and it's been a great source of information, you really do a great job here :)
I'm sorry if there was already a thread about this, i just didn't see it.
So i come here with a problem and i seek your advice/help.

I currently work in the networking field and i want to go down the security path, and i was thinking about going for SSCP.
I work as a QA Engineer for a little over a year right now, testing the Ayava 3500 series switches. I was responsible for features like DHCP Client, Relay, Snooping, Option82, LLDP, SNMPv3 etc. I also had to set up the lab environment ( about 15-20 switches) and work with Ixia Traffic Generator. Being interested in security i already read the study guide for Security+, which i'm planning to take after finishing up with CCNP. Also i'll be responsible for more security features for the next 3500 release, features like 802.1x, Tacacs, Radius, MAC Sec, IP SG etc.

I know the SSCP has a requirement of 1 year experience in one of seven domains.
With my experience do i qualify for this exam? I was thinking maybe i could fall under "Networks and Communications" domain and be able to take the test. I was thinking to go for this cert after my Sec+.
If i do qualify, could you please help me with what procedures i have to do?
Their site is a bit confusing and i didn't quite understand everything i had to do.

Thank you!

Comments

• moyondizvomoyondizvo Member Posts: 155
    Hi, welcome to TE...

You can sit the SSCP exam at any time, it does not have any prerequisites, however to get endorsed is where IS experience matters. Based on your post, the SSCP exam should be a breeze for you but I would recommend you prepare for it just like you would any other exam.