Options

Linux help needed

ChantelChantel Member Posts: 26 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have two problems. One is on my desktop that has an AMD Athlon 64 bit 2.8 Ghz processor and 8 Gb of ram. I have Ubuntu 13.04 loaded on it. Have no idea what size the swap are is. When I copy files it freezes and/or becomes extremely slow. I have tried a couple of solutions from my research but nothing works. According to computer requirements for this, my computer should work. It is dual booted with Windows 7. I am completely new to Linux. Basically I have to be told what to do like I am a child or something.

My second problem is trying to install this on a laptop with preloaded Windows 8. I can't get it to load after install if I do the install from inside Windows. If I reboot and install from the DVD from outside Windows, I can boot from Ubuntu but not from Windows 8. I tried every tool and trick I know to fix this, but no such luck. I am guessing my lack of knowledge on Linux is the big issue here.

I am doing all of this so I can learn Linux to help me with my technology knolwege. I feel like a complete idiot having to ask because computer stuff usually comes easily to me, and here I am talking like a complete noob.

Comments

• Options
    UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,565 Mod
    Your laptop is good! I'm currently running Ubuntu 12.10 on 8 GB Ram as well, the performance is excellent! How's Ubuntu 13.04? I didn't want to jump into it quickly.

To know the size of the swap, use this command:
    free -m

I don't know what's the cause of your problem. You said you're copying files, what files? and what's the source/destination of the files?

For the second problem, you mean you are unable to install Ubuntu at all? or do you want dual boot? I never do dual boot so I don't know what the problem is if it's dual boot issue.