Options

moving from programming to networking

dsa1971dsa1971 Member Posts: 52 ■■□□□□□□□□
anybody made a career switch from programmer to networking work? I've been a programmer for almost 10 years now and have tired of it in some respects. I am still employed full-time as a programmer but have always been interested in the networking side of IT and have decided at least to get a few certs under my belt. A+, Network+, and then maybe onto MCSA. I am wondering if anybody has made this switch. Right now, working from home, I don't have the opportunity to even stick my nose into our company's server room and get my feet wet. In the past, like most IT people, I've had to do some hardware stuff and have built computers for myself and friends so I have that experience but no major networking stuff just some basic stuff. also, lots of customer application support which often turns into teaching someone how to use windows. anyway, I'm looking for some advice on what steps to take beyond getting some certifications. I'm thinking I may need to get my foot in the door at a company with my programming background and eventually make the switch to networking that way otherwise trying to get a entry level networking job would hit my paycheck hard. advice?

Comments

• Options
    duckduckduckduckduckduck Member Posts: 45 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I'd look for a job as a jr. administrator if I was you. Many network admins are expecting to need to train someone in this position and would most likely be happy to take on a programmer (which shows you have strong problem solving skills). Consulting firms also often employ both and may allow you to do programming and train for networking on the side.

However the consulting firms may well decide that you are more profitable to them as a programmer if you're good, so be careful following that route.
  • Options