Building A Home Cisco Lab for CCNA?

abraham1493abraham1493 Member Posts: 23 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,
I recently passed my network+ and now am looking forward to the CCNA. I want to build a Home lab to learn on, you have any suggestions on what to buy? If someoen has done this, please comment, all info is appreciated!
Network+

Comments

• DyasisDyasis Member Posts: 97 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Jeremy Cioara has a nice small vid he recommends for a home lab, I'm still studying for my net+, but soon ill be moving to CCNA as well, so I've been looking around the web as well.

Just search youtube for: MicroNugget: Buiding a CCNA Home Lab
  • theodoxatheodoxa Member Posts: 1,340 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Routers From Cheapest to Most Expensive:

1751 - $20+
    1760 - $20+
    2600XM - $75+
    1800 Series - $100+
    2800 Series - $100+ (I found a 2811 $93 and 2821 for $99, though they will usually run slightly higher)
    2900 Series - $800+

Switches From Cheapest to Most Expensive:

2950 - $25+
    3550 - $65+ (Layer 3 Switch. I scored 2 for $70 because the auction ended at 5 AM and noone outbid me.)
    2960 - $80+ (I got 2 for $100, but haven't seen any for that since)
    3560 - $200+ (Layer 3 Switch. Cheapest I see right now is $225)

I would suggest at least 3 routers and 3 switches. 3 routers will do for most topics, but 4 would be ideal for Frame Relay [as it allows you to have more than 2 sites]. 3 switches is adequate for Spanning Tree. The 1700 series (1751, 1760) and 2600XM series will run IOS 12.4T, though not necessarily all of the packages (such as Advanced Enterprise). For CCNA, even IP Base should do most everything except possibly IPv6. The 1800, 2800, and 1900/2900 Series will run 15.1, but are more expensive [especially the 1900/2900 series which run close to a grand.] You can get an 1800/2800 series for about $100 if you are patient and know what to look for.
    R&S: CCENT CCNA CCNP CCIE [ ]
    Security: CCNA [ ]
    Virtualization: VCA-DCV [ ]