Cisco Lab Question

robp12robp12 Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I'm currently studying for my CCNA, with the CCENT scheduled on August 13th. I'm using Todd Lammle's book, CBT Nuggets and the CCNA in 60 days guide to pace my studies. However, I would like to construct a home lab to work on to improve my skills. Jeremy from CBT Nuggets recommends the Cisco 871w router and I was wondering if that would be sufficient for purposes of a CCNA lab? Also, according to Cisco's website, the 871w is no out of date and they recommend using the 881w. Would the 871w or 881w be enough to get the job done?

Any suggestions would be appreciated,
Rob
Currently Studying:
Northwestern University - Masters of Science, Information Systems GPA 4.0
CCNA certification

Completed: Elon University - BSBA, Marketing May 2012

Comments

• theodoxatheodoxa Member Posts: 1,340 ■■■■□□□□□□
    No. While, you can do some things with a single router, you need at least 3 and preferably 4 to be able to lab everything covered by CCNA. The 800 Series are kinda limited to me. The 800 series have less expansion options, and more limited IOS choices (only 1-3 flavors for most of the 800 series - the 850 only offers Advanced Security which is why it did not support IPv6, while both the 830 and 870 series did) than routers like the 1700, 2600, and 2800. The main advantage of an 870 would be that it is an ISR Router and cheaper than lets say an 1841 or 2811/2821, which means it would support IOS 15, though only a handful of packages/versions, unlike the 1800/2800 series.