Options

Will WGU's BS in Information Technology — Software prepare me as a web programmer?

daneeeeedaneeeee Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I have some experience working as a front-end designer a few years, but am now working as a project manager / support analyst for a software company. Having worked with programmers on a daily basis, I'm gravitating towards going back to school as it's always piqued my interest as something I wanted to do as an extension of the basic web programming skills I already had a designer.

I came across the BS in Information Technology — Software by WGU and became very interested, but there isn't many details regarding the course load and more specifically, what kinds of programming languages would be covered. My local college covers C#, PHP, Javascript and also goes into a bit of ASP, Windows/Linux, etc.

My question is, if my ultimate goal was to be a web programmer capable of building CMS, plugins, connect with APIs, etc. will the WGU program be a good place to start? Ideally, I'd also have enough base knowledge to get my affluent with front-end design, user experience, etc. (Know this isn't covered in the program, but I hope it gives me enough foundation to learn these things afterward).. My main concern is that it seems very Microsoft centric, so I'm losing a big piece of the IT pie by not having knowledge of the other piece of the pie. With the discipline being in software too, I don't know how much of a focus there is on web.

I by no means think it'll be the last time I consider school and would be open to further education if time and life permits. I appreciate any advice, it's been real hard to get these answers out of an enrollment counselor.

Comments

• Options
    kgbkgb Member Posts: 380