Options

Which cert to get for my career?

Good morning techexam community,
I am at a crossroad and need some advice on which certification would help me in my career.

Background:
I am currently an information assurance manager
5 years security background (COMSEC, EMSEC, Physical, security manager)
1.5 years information assurance experience

-I am proficient at vulnerability scans, active directory, auditing, certification & accreditation and EMSEC

-I am NOT proficient at network design, programming, technical network knowledge

So my ambitions are to someday become a security director of some type but it seems that a lot of these security positions require that security professionals are basically programmers, computer engineers or network wizards!icon_lol.gif

I have the SEC+, if I have no ambitions on becoming a programmer or network admin and just want to stick with security what should I learn (master’s degree IA maybe?) or which cert should I go for next?

ALL input will be appreciated!

Comments

• Options
    badrottiebadrottie Member Posts: 116
    With the current changes the DoD is implementing, I would strongly advise getting the CISSP and/or CISM. Obtaining a Masters in IA would not hurt, but it will definitely hurt your pocket book if you are paying for itself, so you would have to factor in what the ROI would be in that situation.
  • Options
    tpatt100tpatt100 Member Posts: 2,991 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I would pursue the CISSP and or the CISA. I would also try and address your lack of proficiency with networking knowledge. You don't need to know how to do everything but a strong foundation can only help you not hinder you.
  • Options
    da_vatoda_vato Member Posts: 445
    I agree with tpatt. With a foundational understanding of networking you will a lot more effective at your job. Security is about protecting the entire infrastructure, how are you going to protect if you don't understand how it works?

Are you Kirtland by chance?
  • Options