Options

How long to stay at a job for?

gbdavidxgbdavidx Member Posts: 840
How long would you stay working for one job if your fte? I was a contractor for 1 year then got hired on as a FTE, i have been a fte a little over a year. Technically i've been doing my job for 2 years 2 months. I am working towards getting my MCSA 2012, is it ok for my to apply for another position w/in my company after over a year and a half? im currently a service desk analyst (answering phones) and trying to get into our technical operations center (system admin)

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    That depends on company policy. Most I have worked at require 12+ months in your current position before applying for another internal position.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    +1. Read your company's policy or ask HR if you're not sure where to find it.
  • Options
    DevilWAHDevilWAH Member Posts: 2,997 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I would say on average you don't want to have less than 2 years at each company if you are full time. You might only spend 18 months at one job then 3 years at the next. If I see a cv with lots of short stints and they are not a contractor I start to ask questions.

I think 5 weeks is the shortest I have been in a job before I got a promotion.

18 months is plenty of time to have been working to start looking at premotion. But really when it's internal it's not the length of time it's have you shown your ready for the next step. The company if it has a position and think you can do the job well, will not care if you have been there 5 years or 5 months.
    I suggest
    if you see an opening talk to a more senior member of staff. Your boss if you can toask them what they think.
    • If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough. Albert Einstein