Options

Telecom Guy needs advise on SQL and AS/400

mgmguy1mgmguy1 Member Posts: 485 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hello,
I am looking for some advise,Tips,Suggestions on this issue I am having. By trade I am a Telecommunications help desk guy.
I have worked at two major Clec's and one small one. I am currently laid off but I am in the process of getting my Cisco CCENT.

The issue I am having is there are a-lot of help desk jobs being advertised but one of the main requirements is knowing SQL or AS400.
Now please bear in mind I am applying for Level one Help Desk stuff and I am not trying to bite off more then I can chew.

My question is this how to I get familiar with SQL or AS/400 ? I have a basement I am turning into a lab for my cisco CCENT studies that will have live equipment, So I if I need to buy something I will have the room for it.

Any advise is welcome!
"A lot of fellows nowadays have a B.A., M.D., or Ph.D. Unfortunately, they don't have a J.O.B."

Fats Domino

Comments

• Options
    ChooseLifeChooseLife Member Posts: 941 ■■■■■■■□□□
    Huh? AS/400 for a helpdesk job? Seeing even one would be rare, let alone multiple - perhaps it is one employer posting multiple ads?

There are few options for studying AS/400, your best bet it learn other, more available Unices (Solaris, Linux) and leveraging that knowledge.

Studying SQL is much easier, just google it and you will plenty of resources, books, training material, exercises... heck, even complete free online courses these days...
    “You don’t become great by trying to be great. You become great by wanting to do something, and then doing it so hard that you become great in the process.” (c) xkcd #896

GetCertified4Less
    - discounted vouchers for certs
  • Options
    mgmguy1mgmguy1 Member Posts: 485 ■■■■□□□□□□