Options

which has more value: CISSP or Bachelors Degree

ajs1976ajs1976 Member Posts: 1,945 ■■■■□□□□□□
Daydreaming today and came up with this. If I my position was eliminated tomorrow, which would help me more with finding a new job: CISSP or a Bachelors Degree?

I have almost 14 years of experience, multiple certs from MS, Citrix, and CompTIA, and an Associates in CIT focusing on Network Administration. I have a plan for the next 6-9 months. Just trying to figure out what comes after that.
Andy

2020 Goals: 0 of 2 courses complete, 0 of 2 exams complete

Comments

• Options
    N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Six in one hand, half dozen in the other.
  • Options
    NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I'll go with, "The Bachelor's degree, of course!" The devil's in the details. While I'm sure you could identify a low-value degree from a low-value school, not much beats a challenging degree from a well-regarded school. Once you have actual degree programs and schools under consideration, we would be able to make a better comparison.
  • Options
    gbdavidxgbdavidx Member Posts: 840
    get degree then cissp? ****, my goal is just to become sys admin right now
  • Options
    emerald_octaneemerald_octane Member Posts: 613
    I know lots of infosec folks with degrees and no CISSP. I know of very few individuals who have a CISSP without a bachelors.

So i'd say go for your bachelors, especially since you already have an AA, then shoot for the CISSP.
  • Options
    ChooseLifeChooseLife Member Posts: 941 ■■■■■■■□□□
    If you are planning to do both eventually, do some homework on which one helps the other most - e.g. Bachelors will help with the CISSP experience requirement (but then you've got multiple certs covering that), and there are some degrees that will grant some credits for having CISSP.