Options

IT Forensic "best" cert path

ch1vasch1vas Member Posts: 81 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

after completing my CCNA and Security+ I'm now studying for the CCNA Security. I have thought a lot about which way I want to head. All I knew is that I want to become an IT Security Professional but didn't know which part of IT Security I like the most. I'm almost certain now that I want to go for IT Forensics jobs. Fortunately we have a few job openings at our local Police station every now and then.

I looked at study programs but 1. I can't afford it and 2. I'm sure I can get certified through self studying like I did for CCNA and Security+ and safe the money which I probably would have to ask a bank for anyways.

So, which certifications would you recommend to get if you'd want to get a job in the IT Forensics field?

Not sure if this will make any difference but I'm already an IT professional with a Computer Science degree and more than 10 years of experience.

Thanks,

***EDIT***

Maybe this would be a good starting point:
http://www.giac.org/certification/certified-forensic-analyst-gcfa
?
Goal 2013: CCENT (x); CCNA(x); Security+(x); ITIL Foundation ( )

Comments

• Options
    Master Of PuppetsMaster Of Puppets Member Posts: 1,210
    ch1vas wrote: »
    Not sure if this will make any difference but I'm already an IT professional with a Computer Science degree and more than 10 years of experience.

That's huge. For forensics, it is very important to have the right background. Since you are asking specifically about certs, I'm not going to expand on the whole forensics subject. I think CHFI would be a good start for getting familiar with the subject. However, if you already have some knowledge you may want to skip it. You seem to have your eye on the GIAC certs which are great IMO. I think you should look into the ones SANS offers. The SANS+GIAC combo will be pretty nice to have for a forensics career on the cert side.