Options

Going from C++ to C

Master Of PuppetsMaster Of Puppets Member Posts: 1,210
Hi guys,

I want to learn C but I have no experience whatsoever in it. As one of my professors says - I'm some kind of a badass when it comes to C++ :D So that probably helps. At the university we started straight from C++ and I was never really interested in C. So my question is, has anyone made that transition? Any tips or things to look out for? I think it's going to be uncomfortable going from C++ to C but maybe it's not that bad. I think the best scenario is doing the opposite but too late for that now. Also, I would really appreciate if someone could recommend a good book that is suitable for the situation. Something not for a total beginner as I don't need to learn programming from the ground up.
Yes, I am a criminal. My crime is that of curiosity. My crime is that of judging people by what they say and think, not what they look like. My crime is that of outsmarting you, something that you will never forgive me for.

Comments

• Options
    NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    C is still an extremely common and important language for embedded applications. Just remember, you don't have to write C code like an old-time C developer. The best code tends to follow the principles of C++ (such as OOP) while using the tool of the C language. I like "The C Programming Language" by K&R, assuming you already know C++ and basic programming concepts.
  • Options
    ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I plan on learning both. I haven't touched either in years, but I had done a little bit of each in the past without any major issues.