Options

What jobs deal just with hardware, specifically desktops/laptops?

phdillardphdillard Member Posts: 86 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm currently studying for A+ and PDI+, and then plan to go for MCTS, Win7Config. I've always been good with building/upgrading/troubleshooting PCs as a self-taught hobbyist and have decided at 31 years old that I need to take it to the next level. I have an associates in general studies that consisted mostly of IT and business classes but never resulted in any actual IT degree or certs while in school, so I'm trying to remedy that now. My question here is what jobs are out there for someone who just wants to work with hardware? I have no interest in networking, security, or developing. My passion is in cracking the case open and leaving the system better than it was when I got there. At one time I had a dream of building high end systems for audio recording purposes but got sidetracked by life and during that time technology advances and price drops sort of made that dream obsolete. Now anyone with a fairly modern pc, 24/96 soundcard, and a basic knowledge of mixing audio can record a studio quality album in their bedroom. So where could I go for employment that would allow me to focus on just hardware without being burdened by a bunch of networking and whatnot, or am I looking for a position that doesn't exist?

Comments

• Options
    Raywire86Raywire86 Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Get your certs (A+, N+, PDI, Server+) then look for field technician jobs with vendors such as Dell, HP, Cannon etc. they usually utilize third party repair companies to represent them and you can usually get jobs with them via temp agencies. You'll be working all day in fancy computer guts.
  • Options
    pertpert Member Posts: 250
    I honestly wouldn't recommend this field, it's dying and the pay and advancement potential just isn't there. You really can't go much further down that track other than being a field engineer for a company.
  • Options