Options

Leave current hourly position for lesser paid salary position?

cg31cg31 Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am currently a Field Technician for a pretty large medical company making $/hr. However I do not feel there is a chance for promotion because everyone in the IT department is young and seemingly contact. I just interviewed with an IT Company that works for many different medium-sized businesses, who offered me 30-35k (not confirmed yet), but the position is Tier 1 Systems Administration. They might offer me $30,000 which is a decent sized pay cut. The newer job is about 45 minutes closer and I do not think there is much requirement for driving my own vehicle. They made it seem like the potential for promotions and raises based on performance is very likely. My current company treats me well, but my career might suffer and become stagnant due to lack of promotion and high raise possibility.

If I am offered equal (35k) or less, should I take the new position? Mind you, I have only been with my current employer for a few months.

Comments

• Options
    SoulSearcherSoulSearcher Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Definitely chose the company where you can lay some roots. The job I'm at now doesn't pay much, but once I really establish myself and some other employees move up or on, it'll open up some of the high paying postilions.

The job i'm at now, I'm next in line for the big wig job. May be a few years but it will be worth it in the end being the man and basically being able to name my raises every once in a while.
  • Options
    Well my current company treats me great, however I am one of 4 field techs, with a supervisor my age and a manager not much old who have been there forever. I may not ever get promoted to a better position and it is likely the raise per year might only be the standard 3%. I don't work with much server related things, which I believe to be important skills. I'm undecided, but this new company may be better in the long run.