Options

I have a bachelors but...

cgoetz86cgoetz86 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have a bachelors but it s not computer related. Im considering getting my CCNA and the obtaining an entry level job in computer networking. If I get the certification will that make up for the fact that I have a non computer related degree, or should consider obtaining a computer related masters?

Comments

• Options
    sigsoldiersigsoldier Member Posts: 136 ■■■□□□□□□□
    A CCNA is much more obtainable in terms of costs and time. If you have the skills, I would say that it doesn't matter as much what your degree is in, as long as you have one (especially for entry level).

Down the road if you want to stay in IT, then I would definitely go for an MS degree in IT.
  • Options
    blueberriesblueberries Banned Posts: 138
    Proof that you don't need a compsci or EE degree to get into Cisco: look at the any CiscoPress book and you will see that most authors that wound up taking the Cisco route started off with non-related degrees.
  • Options
    silverp1silverp1 Member Posts: 124
    From my experience people generally don't care what your degree is in - I have a business degree personally. Another fellow at work has an English degree, one of our network admins has an archaeology degree (dinosaurs to Cisco, that's a big jump!) and one of our programmers has a physics degree. I think for the most part its just a check-box type thing, either you have a Bachelors or you don't.
    Certs: CCENT, CCNA:R&S
    Working on: MCITP:SA
    Goals: CCENT (ICND1) [Done], CCNA (ICND2) [Done], MCITP:SA
  • Options
    RoguetadhgRoguetadhg Member Posts: 2,489 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Physics makes sense for programming. Atleast game programming.
    In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure.
    TE Threads: How to study for the CCENT/CCNA, Introduction to Cisco Exams

• Options
    binarysoulbinarysoul Member Posts: 993