Thinking about Navy Reserve...

laughing_manlaughing_man Member Posts: 84 ■■□□□□□□□□
So I currently work as a security analyst for a healthcare organization and have been on the job for just shy of 3 years. I have a non-technical masters degree, got my GSEC last year and am going for GCIH in the fall. I would like to break into the government/military world of security/information assurance and I was looking at the Navy Reserve as a possibility. I have flirted with the idea of joining the Navy since I was a teenager as my dad was career Navy. Anyone have any experience being in the Naval Reserve? Information Warfare looks good, but I understand it is VERY competitive. Intelligence is another option. I am in the process of talking to my dad for his opinion before I approach a recruiter.

Anyone think this is a viable option and have any information on the prospects?

For anyone in the reserve or guard in general, what is it like juggling a job and your service? How exactly does pay work when deployed (I assume that depends on your civilian employer)?

Comments

• the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I have not been in the military, but I have looked into it from time to time. You have two options. Enlisted will actually allow you to do the job. Officer, much more competitive and you'll be a manager for the most part. If you go enlisted, look into CTN as that will be the rate that will be right up your alley for computer security. You can enter as an E3 and I believe after tech school (due to the length) you'll get the E4 (don't quote me on that though).
    WIP:
    PHP
    Kotlin
    Intro to Discrete Math
    Programming Languages
    Work stuff
  • Rosco2382Rosco2382 Member Posts: 205 ■■■□□□□□□□
    the_Grinch is correct, you can enter as an E3, though with my experience in the military its best to enter as an officer. The benefits far exceed the ones from being enlisted. Though its your choice.
  • aspiringsoulaspiringsoul Member Posts: 314